Rhizome

FDA Requests for Designation: How PMOA Reasoning Determines the Lead Center for Combination Products

Chetan Mishra
Chetan Mishra
Oct 18, 2026

For a drug-device, biologic-device or drug-biologic product, the lead center assignment decides which review division a sponsor works with, which premarket pathway applies, and which postmarket rules govern the product. When the jurisdiction is unclear, a Request for Designation to FDA's Office of Combination Products resolves it formally. The reasoning in earlier designations is often the best guide to how a new product will be classified, so it matters for submission planning, pre-submission strategy and timelines.

The analysis below covers the regulatory framework in 21 CFR Part 3: the primary mode of action standard, the fallback assignment algorithm, and the procedural requirements and deadlines for an RFD. It then reviews published designation precedents grouped by the center assigned, looking at how FDA identified which constituent part produces the product's intended effect.

Rhizome did this research. Let it help you with your most critical decisions by creating a free account.

How FDA's Office of Combination Products resolves Requests for Designation: the PMOA framework and published lead-center precedents

Key takeaways

  • FDA assigns a combination product to a lead center based on its primary mode of action (PMOA), defined as the single mode of action expected to make the greatest contribution to the product's overall intended therapeutic effects 189190.
  • When PMOA cannot be determined with reasonable certainty, FDA applies a two-step assignment algorithm: first consistency with other combination products raising similar safety and effectiveness questions, then the center with the most expertise on the product's most significant safety and effectiveness questions 191.
  • A Request for Designation (RFD) is capped at 15 pages, must include the sponsor's own PMOA-based center recommendation, and is resolved by a letter of designation within 60 days of filing. If FDA misses that deadline, the sponsor's recommendation becomes the designation 13271330178.
  • Where published precedents state their reasoning, it usually comes down to one question: which constituent part actually produces the intended therapeutic or diagnostic effect? Drug-eluting stents and drug-coated or drug-eluting balloons lead to CDRH even when they carry a drug 748745725. Delivery systems, activating light sources and dispensers lead to CDER because the drug does the therapeutic work 1250729972. Fibrin sealants on device carriers lead to CBER 11031074. Several published records state only the lead center without the PMOA rationale, and when PMOA is uncertain the 21 CFR 3.4(b) assignment algorithm controls instead.

The legal framework in 21 CFR Part 3

What counts as a combination product

21 CFR 3.2(e) recognizes four types of combination product 1282128312841285:

  1. Single-entity products, where two or more regulated components are physically, chemically or otherwise combined and produced as one entity.
  2. Co-packaged products, where drug, device and/or biological products are packaged together as a unit.
  3. Separately packaged products intended for use only with an individually specified approved product, where both are required and approval would require a labeling change to the approved product.
  4. Separately packaged investigational products labeled for use only with another individually specified investigational product.

Mode of action and PMOA

Part 3 defines mode of action as the means by which a product achieves an intended therapeutic effect or action, including effects to diagnose, cure, mitigate, treat or prevent disease or to affect the structure or function of the body 184. Each constituent part is characterized by its mode of action:

  • Biological product mode of action: acts by means of a virus, therapeutic serum, toxin, antitoxin, vaccine, blood, blood component or derivative, allergenic product, or analogous product 185.
  • Device mode of action: meets the device definition, has no biological product mode of action, and does not achieve its primary intended purposes through chemical action within or on the body or by being metabolized 186187.
  • Drug mode of action: meets the drug definition and has neither a biological product nor a device mode of action 188.

The PMOA is the single mode of action expected to make the greatest contribution to overall intended therapeutic effects. Primary jurisdiction goes to the center that reviews that type of product 189190.

The assignment algorithm when PMOA is uncertain

If FDA cannot determine with reasonable certainty which mode of action contributes most, it assigns the product to the center that regulates other combination products raising similar safety and effectiveness questions for the product as a whole. If there are no such products, the assignment goes to the center with the most expertise on the product's most significant safety and effectiveness questions 191. FDA guidance gives a vision-correcting contact lens containing a glaucoma drug as an example: its distinct therapeutic effects can leave the PMOA uncertain, so the algorithm applies instead of a direct PMOA determination 262.

The drug/device threshold: "chemical action"

Many jurisdiction disputes turn first on whether a component is a drug or a device at all. FDA interprets "chemical action" as a molecular-level interaction with bodily components (such as cells or tissues), or with a foreign entity such as an organism, that mediates a bodily response or changes the entity's interaction with the body. FDA treats this as equivalent to pharmacological action. Merely transferring electromagnetic or thermal energy is not chemical action 132133. The action must achieve the primary intended purpose and occur within or on the body. A hip implant's incidental foreign-body response or an absorbable suture's resorption does not prevent device classification 137. FDA contrasts a vaginal lubricant that reduces friction (device) with the same product intended to alter pH, control odor or prevent infection through chemical action (drug) 139.

How an RFD is filed and resolved

Required content

Under 21 CFR 3.7, an RFD may not exceed 15 pages including attachments 1327. It must identify the sponsor and describe the product in detail. That description covers composition, the status of any component, developmental and animal testing, manufacturing, proposed use, known modes of action, the mode providing the most important therapeutic action and the basis for that conclusion, schedule and duration of use, dose and route, and related products 13281329. The sponsor must recommend a lead center based on the mode of action that provides the most important therapeutic action. If the sponsor cannot determine that with reasonable certainty, the recommendation must apply the § 3.4(b) assignment algorithm and assess the assignments of other combination products the sponsor wants FDA to consider 1330.

FDA's RFD guidance, How to Write a Request for Designation (RFD) (final, April 2011) 1251, tells sponsors to identify the most important therapeutic action, substantiate the PMOA with evidence, address the assignment algorithm, and explain why the proposed center should lead 227222223.

Timelines and default designation

OCP checks an RFD for completeness within 5 business days of receipt 231. The product jurisdiction officer must issue a letter of designation within 60 days of the filing date. If no letter issues in that time, the sponsor's recommended center becomes the designated center 178231.

Reconsideration and later changes

A sponsor that disagrees with the designation may file a written request for reconsideration of no more than five pages within 15 days of receiving the letter. The request may not include new information, and FDA must respond in writing within 15 days 179.

After designation, FDA may change the assigned center with the sponsor's written consent. Without consent, it may do so only to protect public health or for other compelling reasons. A nonconsensual change requires 30 days' written notice, an opportunity for written objections and a meeting, a reasoned written determination, and concurrence of the Principal Associate Commissioner 13141315. FDA guidance describes the designation letter as a binding determination that applies only to the product as described, including its proposed uses. A new determination may be appropriate if the product or indication changes, or if new information shows the product works differently from what the RFD described 1323132413251326.

Pre-RFD and other feedback routes

The Pre-RFD is an informal, nonbinding alternative 219220221169. FDA revised its Pre-RFD guidance in November 2025, replacing the February 2018 version 12521253. Under the 2025 guidance, OCP aims to assess adequacy within 10 business days and to give written feedback within 60 calendar days of acknowledging acceptance 232233. The 2018 guidance had made a sponsor's own PMOA analysis optional in a Pre-RFD, noting that FDA would run the same analysis either way 228.

Once the lead center is settled, sponsors use that center's processes (device pre-submissions, drug and biologic formal meetings). Combination Product Agreement Meetings (CPAMs) are available only after any PMOA question has been resolved 172173174. These routes are described in Requesting FDA Feedback on Combination Products (December 2020) 1260.

What the lead-center assignment controls

The application type generally follows PMOA. Device-led products use a PMA, De Novo or 510(k). Drug-led products use an NDA or ANDA. Biologic-led products use a BLA 68. FDA generally considers a single application appropriate, but that application must permit an evaluation substantially similar to reviewing each constituent part separately. In limited cases, FDA has used an application type associated with the non-lead constituent part 6869. The lead center consults other centers and OCP as needed, and sponsors should route all interactions through the lead center 677071.

Published precedents: outcomes and stated PMOA reasoning

The table below collects jurisdiction outcomes and PMOA statements found in publicly released FDA review and decision documents (Drugs@FDA, CBER biologics, PMA and De Novo records). Some entries record a formal RFD or Product Jurisdiction Officer decision. Others record only the PMOA rationale the reviewing center stated in its decision documents. The table notes which is which.

Product (application)Constituent partsOutcome and lead centerPMOA reasoning as stated
Oridion Breath ID Test Kit (NDA 021314)Breath ¹²CO₂/¹³CO₂ ratio-measuring device; kit with ¹³C-urea and nasal cannula 99RFD 98-03, letter dated April 6, 1998; CDRH assigned 10881089101The device and kit together are "a combination product whose primary mode of action is that of a device," so CDRH has responsibility 101
LARA Breath Test System / PYLORI-CHEK (NDA 020900)Laser ratio analyzer; breath collection kit with ¹³C-urea 830Product Jurisdiction Officer letters in 1993 and 1995 split review between CDRH and CDER; CDRH primary, with the drug component reviewed under new drug provisions 831832Not stated in the released documents 832
QMT NIMBUS antimicrobial barrier gauze dressing (DEN070002)Gauze dressing with pDADMAC additive 144After an RFD, OCP's April 11, 2007 letter found it a device for CDRH review; later classified class II with special controls 145146147Not stated in the De Novo decision 141
Silvion antibacterial silver skin and wound moisturizing solution (K063063)Moisturizing device components; ionic silver antimicrobial drug component 757Identified as a combination product under section 503(g) and 21 CFR 3.2(e); reviewed as a 510(k) 757Two modes of action. PMOA is "attributable to the device components' action to provide moisture to dermal wounds and inflamed skin" 757
SYNERGY everolimus-eluting coronary stent (P150003)Platinum chromium stent with PLGA/everolimus coating 748Device/drug combination product approved through PMA 748Stent "provides a mechanical structure for vascular lumen support (primary mode of action)" and everolimus reduces the injury response 748
AGENT paclitaxel-coated balloon (P230035)Balloon catheter with paclitaxel/ATBC coating 723724PMA 721"Mechanical expansion of a diseased vessel (primary mode of action) while transferring a pharmacological agent" 725
SELUTION SLR 014 sirolimus drug-eluting balloon (P250041)PCI balloon with micro-encapsulated sirolimus 744Device-drug combination product; PMA 744"Primary mode of action is mechanical dilation of the stenotic lesion with a secondary inhibition of restenosis" via sirolimus 745
Magtrace and Sentimag localization system (P160053)Carboxydextran-coated superparamagnetic iron oxide tracer; magnetic detector 739"Combination product with a device primary mode of action"; PMA 740Particles are physically filtered and accumulate in lymph nodes, where they are magnetically detected 741
Levulan Kerastick and BLU-U illuminator (device PMA P990019)Aminolevulinic acid (drug); blue-light illuminator (device) 729Combination product under 21 CFR 3.2(e); CDER given administrative jurisdiction 729"The primary mode of action for the combination has been determined to be that of a drug" 729
Visudyne and Coherent Opal photoactivator laser (device PMA P990049)Verteporfin (drug); laser console and adapter (device) 732Combination product; CDER given administrative jurisdiction 732PMOA "determined to be that of a drug" 732
IONSYS fentanyl iontophoretic system (NDA 021338)Fentanyl gel; electronic controller and hydrogel reservoirs 1248Combination product regulated by CDER 1249Primary jurisdiction is with CDER "as the primary mode of action is from the drug" 1250
Melblez Kit / Delcath hepatic delivery system (NDA 201848)Melphalan; percutaneous hepatic perfusion catheter and filter system 1044Drug-device combination; CDER requested an intercenter consult from CDRH 1045"The oncology drug (melphalan) is the primary mode of action and the secondary mode of action is the delivery device" 1044
Duopa / LCIG system (NDA 203952)Levodopa-carbidopa gel cassette; ambulatory pump; PEG-J tubing 937OCP agreed on November 15, 2011 that it is a combination product (drug, pump, tubing) under CDER jurisdiction 938Not stated in the released documents 938
XENOVIEW hyperpolarized Xe-129 (NDA 214375)Hyperpolarized Xe-129 gas (drug); polarizer and other components (device) 824RFD completed June 2014; reconsideration affirmed July 2014; CDER lead 824PMOA "attributed to the hyperpolarized Xe-129 gas" 824
MYDCOMBI tropicamide/phenylephrine ophthalmic spray (NDA 215352)Ophthalmic solution; precision spray dispenser 970971Drug-led combination product; CDER primary jurisdiction 972FDA regulates products with an eye cup, dropper or dispenser as drug-led because "the drug constituent part provides the PMOA" 972
Fulvestrant prefilled syringe (NDA 210063)Fulvestrant; prefilled syringe 901CDER lead; CDRH intercenter consult found device constituents approvable (May 29, 2019) 902903Not stated in the released documents 872
TachoSil fibrin sealant patch (BLA 125351)Collagen sponge (device); human fibrinogen and thrombin (biologic) 11031104CBER primary; CDRH consulted on the device component (consult requested July 7, 2009) 11031105PMOA "determined to be the biological components of thrombin and fibrinogen" 1103
Fibrin Sealant (Human), Grifols (BLA 125640)Fibrinogen/thrombin in prefilled syringes; syringe holder, cannula, spray applicator 1075Biologic/device combination product; CBER (OTAT) lead; CDRH consult recommended approval 107410761077PMOA "provided by the biologics (human fibrinogen and human thrombin)" 1074

Patterns in the PMOA reasoning

Physical or mechanical therapeutic action leads to CDRH

For drug-eluting stents and drug-coated or drug-eluting balloons, FDA's decision documents describe the mechanical function (lumen support, vessel expansion, lesion dilation) as the PMOA. The drug's antiproliferative effect is described as secondary 748725745. The same logic appears in wound care. For Silvion, FDA attributed the PMOA to the device's moisturizing action, not to the ionic silver antimicrobial 757. For the NIMBUS gauze with pDADMAC, OCP designated the product a device for CDRH review 145147. Magtrace is another example: FDA found a device PMOA because the iron oxide particles work through physical filtration in lymph nodes and magnetic detection, not pharmacology 740741.

Diagnostic systems built around an instrument lead to CDRH, even with a drug reagent

Both early ¹³C-urea breath test systems went to CDRH. In the Oridion case, the RFD 98-03 letter states the combination's PMOA "is that of a device" 101. For the LARA system, the Product Jurisdiction Officer made CDRH primary while the ¹³C-urea component was still reviewed under the new drug provisions 831832. These precedents predate the 2005-era PMOA definition now in Part 3, and the released documents give little detail on the reasoning.

Delivery, activation and dispensing devices lead to CDER

Where the device's role is to deliver, dose or activate a drug that produces the therapeutic effect, FDA has consistently assigned CDER. Examples are the iontophoretic system in IONSYS 1250, the hepatic perfusion system in Melblez 1044, the enteral pump and tubing in Duopa 938, and the photoactivating light sources for Levulan and Visudyne 729732. FDA guidance generalizes this to prefilled syringes, pen and jet injectors, and emergency-use injectors: CDER leads if the drug provides the PMOA, CBER if the biologic does 255256257. The MYDCOMBI correspondence shows FDA applying this at the level of a product category. Products combining an ophthalmic drug with an eye cup, dropper or dispenser are regulated as drug-led combination products 972.

XENOVIEW is a useful edge case. It is a diagnostic imaging product in which the hyperpolarized gas is the drug constituent, and FDA attributed the PMOA to the gas, not to the polarizing hardware. That determination survived a request for reconsideration 824. The contrast with the breath test precedents is instructive: in XENOVIEW, the drug itself generates the imaging signal, whereas the breath test instruments do the measuring and computing 82499.

Biologic constituents on device carriers lead to CBER

For both fibrin sealant precedents, FDA located the PMOA in the human fibrinogen and thrombin, not the collagen carrier or applicator. CBER leads, and CDRH consults on the device constituent 110310741076. MACI (autologous chondrocytes on a porcine collagen membrane) was handled under a CBER BLA with CDRH consults on the membrane and on quality systems. The released documents do not state a formal PMOA determination 11741177.

Consistency with prior products as a tiebreaker

FDA's reviews show the agency anchoring new classifications to earlier ones, consistent with the first step of the assignment algorithm 191. In the XARACOLL bupivacaine-collagen implant review, FDA explained that treating the product as a combination product was consistent with other drug-delivery implants. It cited the drug-eluting disc example in the 2005 PMOA final rule 11411142.

Practical implications for sponsors

  • Lead with therapeutic contribution, not composition. The regulatory test asks which mode of action contributes most to the intended effect 189. RFDs that tie the claimed PMOA to the product's mechanism and proposed indication follow the structure FDA asks for 1329227.
  • Watch the indication. The same physical construct can shift jurisdiction if the claims change. FDA's lubricant example (friction reduction versus pH or anti-infective claims) shows how 139. A changed indication can also justify a new determination 1326.
  • Address the algorithm when PMOA is close. If the PMOA is arguable, the sponsor's recommendation must apply the § 3.4(b) algorithm and point to analogous products 1330. Precedent class assignments, such as drug-led ophthalmic dispensers and device-led drug-coated vascular devices, are the strongest available anchors 972748745.
  • Use the 60-day clock and reconsideration carefully. The default-designation rule rewards a complete, well-argued recommendation 178. Reconsideration is short (five pages, 15 days, no new information) 179, so the evidence has to be in the original RFD.
  • Expect intercenter consults regardless of outcome. The lead center routinely consults the other center on non-lead constituents. Examples include CDRH consults on fibrin sealant applicators, prefilled syringes and hepatic delivery systems 10769021045.

Limits of the public record

FDA's published review documents usually record the jurisdictional outcome but not the full OCP analysis. In several precedents above (the LARA breath test, NIMBUS, Duopa, the fulvestrant prefilled syringe), the released record states the lead center without stating the PMOA reasoning 832141938872. For PMA-approved drug-device products such as drug-eluting stents and balloons, the PMOA language comes from the sponsor-facing summary of safety and effectiveness, not from a published RFD letter 748725745. Readers who need the reasoning behind a specific product class (for example, antimicrobial dressings, tissue-based scaffolds or digital drug-device systems such as ABILIFY MYCITE, where CDER led with a CDRH consult 12131215) should look further into center-specific review memos and OCP's product-class jurisdiction statements.

Rhizome did this research. Let it help you with your most critical decisions by creating a free account.