Rhizome

FDA Review Timelines by Pathway and Product Type: Actual Submission-to-Decision Data

Chetan Mishra
Chetan Mishra
Sep 27, 2026

Submission timing drives launch planning, financing milestones, manufacturing readiness, and commercial forecasts. User-fee goal dates tell a sponsor how long FDA intends to take. They do not always show how long a review actually runs from receipt to decision, and the gap between the two can change resourcing and risk assumptions for regulatory and clinical teams.

The analysis below measures actual calendar-day review times from the receipt and decision dates FDA records in approval letters and in 510(k) and De Novo decision records. It compares those times with the PDUFA and MDUFA goal structures across novel NDAs and BLAs, 351(k) biosimilars, resubmissions after a complete response letter, expedited programs, the Commissioner's National Priority Voucher pilot, and 510(k) and De Novo device submissions. It also explains how calendar-day figures differ from FDA's own review-clock metrics.

Rhizome did this research. Let it help you with your most critical decisions by creating a free account.

How long FDA review actually takes: submission-to-decision times by pathway, review track, and the CNPV pilot

FDA's user-fee goals tell sponsors how long review should take. The dates FDA itself records in approval letters and in its 510(k) and De Novo decision records show how long it did take. This article sets those actual elapsed times against the statutory goal structures for novel drugs and biologics (NME NDAs and original BLAs), 351(k) biosimilars, resubmissions after a complete response, expedited programs, the Commissioner's National Priority Voucher (CNPV) pilot, and 510(k) and De Novo device submissions.

All figures are calendar days from the receipt date FDA states in the approval letter (or in the 510(k)/De Novo record) to the decision date. They are not the same thing as the "FDA days" or "PDUFA clock" metrics FDA uses for goal reporting, and the difference matters. That is explained where it applies.

Key findings

  • Priority review delivers novel drug and biologic approvals in about 8 months; standard review takes about 12. Across 109 first-cycle novel approvals (NME NDAs and novel BLAs, January 2024 to September 27, 2026), the median time from receipt to approval was 242 days under priority review and 365 days under standard review. Both distributions are tightly clustered around the goal date.
  • Those medians match PDUFA VII almost exactly. FDA's goal for NME NDAs and original BLAs is action within 6 months (priority) or 10 months (standard) of the 60-day filing date, meaning roughly 8 and 12 months from receipt 4247.
  • Expedited designations do not shorten the review clock by themselves. Breakthrough therapy, fast track, orphan, accelerated approval, rolling review/RTOR, and redeemed priority review vouchers all produced medians of 237 to 243 days among priority-review approvals. The priority designation sets the review time.
  • A complete response letter is the single biggest driver of total time. Resubmitted novel applications were approved a median of 182 days after the resubmission arrived, consistent with the 6-month Class 2 goal 4247. The total time from original receipt, though, stretched to between 4 and 5 years in the slowest cases.
  • Biosimilars run about 12 months first cycle and about 15 months overall. The median first-cycle 351(k) approval took 366 days, in line with the BsUFA III goal of 10 months after the 60-day filing date 8734.
  • CNPV approvals have come in 44 to 61 days after filing, and 40 to 71 days from receipt. FDA reported approvals 44, 50, 55, and 61 days after filing 4235423442428720. Rasonque came 40 days after receipt 8769; Foundayo came 71 days after receipt. The clock starts only after a rolling submission is complete, however, and at least one CNPV supplement took 326 days 87498753.
  • 510(k) clearances in 2025 had a median of 126 calendar days from receipt to decision; De Novo grants took about 11 months. Only 35% of 2025 510(k)s were cleared within 90 calendar days, compared with the MDUFA V goal of 90 FDA days 8741. The gap reflects time on hold, which is not counted as FDA days.

The goal framework: what FDA commits to

ProgramSubmission typeReview goal
PDUFA VIINME NDA / original BLA ("the Program"), standard90% acted on within 10 months of the 60-day filing date 4247
PDUFA VIINME NDA / original BLA, priority90% within 6 months of the 60-day filing date 4247
PDUFA VIINon-NME original NDA10 months (standard) or 6 months (priority) from receipt 4247
PDUFA VIIClass 1 / Class 2 resubmission2 months / 6 months from receipt 42478729
BsUFA IIIOriginal 351(k) BLA90% within 10 months of the 60-day filing date 8734
BsUFA IIIResubmitted 351(k) BLA90% within 6 months of receipt 8734
MDUFA V510(k)95% decided within 90 FDA days. Average total time to decision (TTD) target of 112 days for FY2025 to FY2027 87418742
MDUFA VDe Novo70% decided within 150 FDA days in FY2023 to FY2025, rising to 80% and 90% in FY2026 and FY2027 if earlier goals are met 87418745
MDUFA VOriginal PMA90% within 180 FDA days without advisory committee input, or 320 FDA days with it 87418742
CNPV pilotDrug/biologic original or supplementTarget action about 1 to 2 months after filing or final submission 423642384234

Because the PDUFA and BsUFA clocks for Program applications start after the 60-day filing period, a "6-month" priority review ends about 8 months after receipt, and a "10-month" standard review ends about 12 months after receipt 42478734. Device "FDA days" count only the days a submission is under active FDA review. The count starts at receipt of the submission, or at receipt of the amendment that allows it to be accepted 87428744. Time on hold is excluded 8745.

Novel drugs and biologics: first-cycle approvals

The table below covers novel approvals from January 2024 through September 27, 2026 that were approved on the first review cycle. Review designation comes from Drugs@FDA, and received dates come from each approval letter.

CohortApprovals (n)Median daysMedian monthsInterquartile range (days)Range (days)Example sources
NME NDA, priority review452417.9232 to 24440 to 397549355105518
NME NDA, standard review3936512.0357 to 36571 to 465552355145505
Novel BLA, priority review182428.0236 to 243217 to 323561755955647
Novel BLA, standard review736612.0365 to 366354 to 975566956755633
All novel, priority review632428.0232 to 24440 to 397551055185492
All novel, standard review4636512.0357 to 36571 to 975551655285495
351(k) biosimilar BLA3236612.0364 to 456240 to 934571957385768

The interquartile ranges are only about 10 days wide for every priority and standard cohort. In practice, first-cycle approvals land on or just before the PDUFA goal date. Early action is rare. Only two first-cycle novel approvals in the set came in under 180 days, and both were CNPV products (discussed below). Among conventional reviews, the fastest were oncology priority reviews at 189 to 227 days, such as Avmapki Fakzynja Co-Pack at 189 days 5519, Itovebi at 197 days 5544, and Imdelltra at 217 days 5735.

The long tail on standard review reflects extensions and delays that did not end in a formal complete response. Examples include Etcamah at 465 days 5529 and Tevimbra, whose BLA was received in July 2021 and approved in March 2024 (975 days) 5759.

Representative approvals (fastest and slowest first-cycle)

ProductApplicationReview designationReceivedApprovedDaysSource
RasonqueNDA 220910Priority2026-07-172026-08-26405533
FoundayoNDA 220934Standard2026-01-202026-04-01715521
Avmapki Fakzynja Co-Pack (Copackaged)NDA 219616Priority2024-10-312025-05-081895519
ItovebiNDA 219249Priority2024-03-272024-10-101975544
ImdelltraBLA 761344Priority2023-10-122024-05-162175735
Datroway (second original BLA; its first approval was in January 2025)BLA 761464Priority2024-11-122025-06-232235619
ZanvastroNDA 220210Priority2026-01-222026-09-032245504
KomziftiNDA 220305Priority2025-03-312025-11-132275489
LynkuetNDA 219469Standard2024-07-262025-10-244555490
TryvioNDA 217686Standard2022-12-192024-03-194565543
EtcamahNDA 220359Standard2025-05-272026-09-044655529
TevimbraBLA 761232Standard2021-07-122024-03-139755759

Foundayo is listed in Drugs@FDA as a standard-review NDA 5521. It was nonetheless approved in 71 days from receipt because it was reviewed under the CNPV pilot 5850.

Trend by approval year

Approval yearFirst-cycle novel approvals (n)Median daysIQR (days)Example sources
202437275244 to 36556285720
202540244237 to 36556675565
2026 (through Sept. 27)32242239 to 34756175595

The median first-cycle time fell from 275 days in 2024 to about 242 to 244 days in 2025 and 2026. This reflects a larger share of priority-review approvals rather than faster action against the goal date. The within-track medians stay pinned to about 8 and 12 months.

Expedited programs: designation versus review time

Among first-cycle, priority-review novel approvals, the expedited designation had essentially no effect on the median time from receipt to approval:

Designation (priority-review approvals, first cycle)nMedian daysIQR (days)Example sources
Breakthrough therapy35240230 to 244550955846239
No breakthrough therapy28242238 to 243551854925835
Fast track29242232 to 244551755516165
Orphan designation36241.5230 to 244549355186154
Accelerated approval21237231 to 244566155117746
Rolling review or RTOR19243235 to 244559555496994
Priority review voucher redeemed6241239 to 242551254926141

Breakthrough-designated products that received standard review took a median of 365 days (n=6), which is the same as other standard reviews. Breakthrough therapy, fast track, and RTOR deliver their value earlier, through more intensive development-phase interaction, rolling submission, and readiness at filing. They do not compress the PDUFA clock once it starts. Accelerated approval changes the evidentiary basis, not the review duration. A redeemed rare pediatric disease or other priority review voucher converts a standard review into a priority one. It does not produce anything faster than a normal priority review. The voucher-redeemed approvals in this set had a median of 241 days.

Designation status was extracted from FDA review documents and approval letters. Absence of a designation in those documents may reflect incomplete documentation rather than absence of the designation.

Complete responses and resubmissions

Of 136 novel approvals in the period, 27 followed at least one complete response letter.

CohortApprovals (n)Median daysMedian monthsInterquartile range (days)Range (days)Example sources
All novel, priority (original receipt to approval, any cycle)772428.0236 to 29440 to 1862557756175595
All novel, standard (original receipt to approval, any cycle)5936512.0363 to 45671 to 1624554855425538
Novel, resubmission receipt to approval231826.0168 to 18335 to 386555055925752
Biosimilar, original receipt to approval (any cycle)48455.515.0365 to 670240 to 4051572456895771
Biosimilar, resubmission receipt to approval141826.0179 to 183147 to 431574057335746

Once a resubmission arrives, FDA acts on the Class 2 timeline. The median was 182 days from resubmission receipt to approval, and the interquartile range was only 168 to 183 days. A few Class 1 resubmissions closed in about 2 months (minimum 35 days). The real cost of a CRL is the sponsor-side gap between the complete response and the resubmission:

ProductOriginal receiptResubmission receiptApprovedResubmission to approval (days)Original receipt to approval (days)Source
Narsoplimab-Wuug2020-11-172025-03-262025-12-2327218625741
Utebzi2021-10-272025-12-182026-06-1718116945587
Grafapex2020-08-112024-04-302025-01-2126616245582
Miplyffa2020-07-172023-12-212024-09-2027415265612
Orlynvah2020-11-252024-04-252024-10-2518314305607

For priority applications, a CRL moves the 75th percentile of total time from original receipt from about 244 days to 294 days. For standard applications it moves from 365 to 456 days. Resubmission approvals for novel products in 2026 had a median resubmission-to-approval time of about 122 days, the shortest of the three years, but the sample is small.

Biosimilars (351(k) BLAs)

First-cycle biosimilar approvals had a median of 366 days from receipt (interquartile range 364 to 456) 571957385768. That is consistent with the BsUFA III goal of 10 months after the 60-day filing date 8734. Resubmissions were common: 14 of 48 biosimilar approvals in the dataset were resubmission approvals, acted on a median of 182 days after resubmission receipt 574057335746. Including resubmissions, the median total time from original receipt to approval was about 15 months (455.5 days), and the longest case exceeded 11 years 572456895771.

The Commissioner's National Priority Voucher (CNPV) pilot

How the pilot works

FDA announced the CNPV program on June 17, 2025 4236 and awarded its first nine vouchers on October 16, 2025 4238. A second cohort of six followed on November 6, 2025, bringing the total to 15 4240. Vouchers go to drug and biologic applications, including manufacturing and efficacy supplements, that align with national priorities: a U.S. public health crisis, innovative cures, large unmet need, onshoring of manufacturing, or affordability 42334231.

The target is a decision about 1 to 2 months after filing or final submission, compared with roughly 10 to 12 months under the usual process. FDA may extend the target for incomplete submissions, ambiguous results, manufacturing problems, or complex reviews 423642384234. Sponsors must provide CMC information and draft labeling at least 60 days before the final submission. FDA's illustrative timeline runs about 60 days for presubmission (longer when foreign inspections are needed), 14 to 21 days for filing, and 30 to 60 days for review 42334231.

A multidisciplinary team reviews the application concurrently and presents a preliminary recommendation to the CNPV Review Council, a "tumor-board-style" panel of senior FDA leaders. The Council votes on a nonbinding recommendation, and the approval decision stays with the product center 4232423142364238.

Actual CNPV review times

ProductType of actionReceived / filedApprovedElapsed timeSources
Augmentin XR (amoxicillin-clavulanate potassium ER)First CNPV approval (domestic antibiotic manufacturing)Not statedDec. 9, 2025Not stated87184232
Hernexeos (zongertinib)Indication extension to first-line HER2-mutant NSCLCFiled Jan. 13, 2026Feb. 26, 202644 days after filing4235
Foundayo (orforglipron)First NME approved under CNPVInitial submission Nov. 21, 2025. NDA received Jan. 20, 2026Apr. 1, 202650 days after filing (FDA). 71 days from receipt. 131 days from initial submission4234585958585848
Otarmeni (lunsotogene parvec-cwha)Original BLA, OTOF gene therapyNot statedApr. 23, 202661 days after BLA filing87198720
Bizengri (zenocutuzumab-zbco)Seventh CNPV approval (NRG1+ cholangiocarcinoma)Not statedMay 8, 2026Not stated4237
Tzield (teplizumab), BLA 761183/S-010FDA-selected supplementReceived July 21, 2025June 12, 2026326 days87498753
Lipfendra, NDA 220848Rolling NDA under CNPVPart 1 Feb. 20, 2026. Part 2 June 22, 2026July 15, 202623 days from final component. 145 days from Part 157945789
Rasonque (daraxonrasib), NDA 220910First-in-class therapy for metastatic pancreatic cancerReceived July 17, 2026Aug. 26, 202640 days87695533

As of March 20, 2026, FDA reported 18 vouchers awarded and four approvals, including two oncology approvals made 44 and 55 days after filing 4242. Foundayo's approval came 294 days ahead of its January 20, 2027 PDUFA date 4234. FDA's program page also lists CNPV approvals for higher-dose semaglutide (March 19, 2026), a gene therapy for young children with sickle cell disease (July 1, 2026), and an oral PCSK9 inhibitor (July 17, 2026), but it does not give review durations for them 4232.

Three caveats apply when comparing CNPV times with conventional reviews:

  1. The clock starts late. CNPV times are measured from filing or from the final component of a rolling submission. Measured from the first submission, Foundayo took 131 days 58595848 and Lipfendra 145 days 57945789. That is still well under a priority review, but not "one month."
  2. The clock can be extended. For Tzield S-010, CNPV cut the initial review clock to 4 months, with a goal date of November 21, 2025 87568757. A major amendment pushed the goal to April 21, 2026 87498755. FDA then missed that date so it could convene an advisory committee 8751, and approved the supplement on June 12, 2026, 326 days after receipt 8749.
  3. Designation labels do not reflect CNPV. Drugs@FDA classifies Foundayo as a standard review 5521 and records Rasonque as a priority review without a CNPV flag 5784. Analyses that group by review designation alone will misclassify CNPV approvals as outliers.

Medical devices: 510(k), De Novo and PMA

510(k)

For the 3,197 510(k) decisions dated in calendar year 2025, the median time from receipt to decision was 126 calendar days. The mean was 146 days, the interquartile range 79 to 213 days, and the 90th percentile 267 days 194722532316. Only 35% were decided within 90 calendar days.

These are total elapsed days, including time on additional-information hold. They are not comparable with the 90-FDA-day goal, which excludes hold time 87418742. They are closer in concept to MDUFA V's average total time to decision (TTD) target of 112 days for FY2025 8741. The comparison is only approximate, because MDUFA TTD is reported by receipt cohort, while this analysis groups submissions by decision date 87428744.

Elapsed time varies widely by device type:

Product code510(k) decisions in 2025 (n)Median daysIQR (days)Example sources
GEX839077 to 15923722805
QIH9415091 to 21639181533
LLZ58173138 to 22439501637
IYN5712485 to 18214351592
HRS549055 to 15619662264
OHS4288.582 to 11223001146
NHA40146.589 to 21714403147
DZE31184126 to 25527483945
MAX298548 to 12828222204

Among the highest-volume product codes, medians ranged from about 3 months (MAX, OHS, GEX, HRS) to 5 to 6 months (QIH, LLZ, DZE). Product code, and the testing and predicate expectations that come with it, is therefore a better planning input than the pathway-wide median.

De Novo

Across 168 De Novo grants decided from January 2022 through September 27, 2026, the median time from receipt to grant was 325.5 days (about 11 months). The interquartile range was 242 to 381 days, and the 90th percentile 623 days 431743144365.

Decision yearDe Novo grants (n)Median daysIQR (days)Example sources
202222331231 to 53043834401
202347326210 to 51543584365
202447328251 to 37243144315
202527299229 to 32542974284
2026 (through Sept. 27)25328318 to 34042644267

Only 14 of the 168 grants came within 150 calendar days of receipt. The MDUFA V De Novo goal is 150 FDA days 8741. The gap again reflects hold time and the interactive nature of De Novo review. The fastest grants were diagnostics: Xpert HCV; GeneXpert Xpress System (DEN240016), 72 days 4305; MagDI System (DEN240013), 98 days 4307; Healgen Rapid Check COVID-19/Flu A&B Antigen Test (DEN240029), 122 days 4298.

PMA (original, Class III)

PMA timelines are governed by the MDUFA V goals of 180 FDA days, or 320 FDA days with advisory committee input 87418742. In calendar time, actual decisions take longer.

Original PMAs, the pathway for the highest-risk Class III devices, show a median filing-to-approval time of about 252 days (8.3 months) in the sampled cohort, but the distribution is heavily right-skewed. The middle half spans roughly 180 to 520 days, and the slowest tail extends well past three years for devices that go through advisory-panel review, major deficiency cycles, or manufacturing follow-up 87708771. Straightforward PMAs, including several recent cardiovascular and electrophysiology devices, cleared filing to approval in about 6 months 87728773, while more complex or panel-track submissions such as certain carotid-stent and combination systems ran 3 years or longer 8771. Two cautions apply to the PMA figure: it is measured from the FDA "filing" milestone (after the acceptance and filing review), which understates total submission-to-decision time, and the filing date is documented in only a minority of PMA decision records, so the sample is smaller and less complete than the device-clearance and drug figures.

How to read these numbers

  • Calendar days from receipt are not goal-clock days. For drugs, subtract about 60 days to approximate the PDUFA or BsUFA clock for Program applications. For devices, the difference between elapsed time and FDA days is sponsor response time, which can be substantial.
  • This covers approvals only. Applications that received a CRL and never came back, were withdrawn, or received a not-substantially-equivalent decision are not captured, so the figures describe successful reviews.
  • Rolling submissions compress apparent review time. For CNPV and other rolling reviews, the elapsed time depends on whether you measure from the first module or the last.
  • Review designation is the dominant variable for drugs. Once the PDUFA clock starts, priority versus standard, and whether a CRL is issued, explain almost all variation. Expedited designations matter mainly before submission.

For product-specific follow-ups, such as time to approval within a particular review division, the effect of advisory committees on elapsed time, or supplement review times under CNPV compared with conventional efficacy supplements, the underlying approval letters and decision records can be examined application by application.

Rhizome did this research. Let it help you with your most critical decisions by creating a free account.