Incretin-based therapies are one of the fastest-moving areas of metabolic drug development. Oral small-molecule agents, higher-dose formulations, new indications such as MASH and cardiovascular risk reduction, and multi-agonist mechanisms are all reaching regulators at once. For regulatory and clinical teams, recent FDA and EMA decisions set the working precedent for how these programs are reviewed, labeled and extended. They also inform endpoint selection, dosing strategy and lifecycle planning for products still in development.
The analysis below reviews recent FDA approvals and EMA marketing authorisation actions for GLP-1 receptor agonists and related incretin therapies, including oral agents such as orforglipron. It then maps the late-stage clinical pipeline from ClinicalTrials.gov records and compares approaches across the two jurisdictions. Each finding is cited to the underlying approval documents, EPARs or trial registrations.
GLP-1 receptor agonists and incretin therapies: recent FDA and EMA decisions and the clinical pipeline (September 2026)
Key takeaways
- Orforglipron is now approved by FDA. FDA approved FOUNDAYO (orforglipron) tablets under NDA 220934 on April 1, 2026, as a Type 1 new molecular entity 209655. It was reviewed under the Commissioner's National Priority Voucher (CNPV) pilot and approved 50 days after filing, the first new molecular entity approved under that program (FDA press release, April 1, 2026). It is the first small-molecule, non-peptide oral GLP-1 receptor agonist approved by FDA, and it carries no food or water dosing restrictions 1171665. No EMA EPAR for orforglipron was found as of this review.
- Oral semaglutide for obesity came first in the US. FDA approved oral Wegovy (semaglutide 25 mg tablets) under NDA 218316 on December 22, 2025 1015480. The EU added Wegovy tablets as an extension of the existing marketing authorisation 651.
- Established incretins keep adding indications and doses. Examples are Wegovy HD 7.2 mg (FDA, March 19, 2026) 1213, the Wegovy MASH accelerated approval (August 15, 2025) 744, and a cardiovascular risk-reduction indication for Mounjaro in type 2 diabetes (August 27, 2026) 961. In the EU, the recent actions were Kayshild (semaglutide for MASH, March 26, 2026) 904, Kyinsu (insulin icodec/semaglutide, November 24, 2025) 707, and the first hybrid liraglutide products referencing Saxenda (July 2026) 300604.
- The late-stage pipeline has moved past single-agonist GLP-1. ClinicalTrials.gov shows large Phase 3 programs for retatrutide, CagriSema, maridebart cafraglutide, survodutide, NNC0487-0111, zenagamtide, eloralintide, VK2735 and AZD6234. Behind them is a broad group of Chinese and other ex-US GLP-1-based candidates, many of them oral.
1. Orforglipron (FOUNDAYO): the first approved non-peptide oral GLP-1 receptor agonist
Regulatory record
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Application | NDA 220934, Eli Lilly and Co; ORIG, submission class Type 1 (NME) 209; CNPV pilot, approved 50 days after filing |
| Approval date | April 1, 2026 655219 |
| Latest action | Labeling supplement approved August 4, 2026 206663 |
| Molecule | Selective, orally administered small-molecule, non-peptide GLP-1 receptor agonist, supplied as the calcium salt in film-coated tablets 11711177 |
| Pharmacology | Activates the human GLP-1 receptor (cAMP signalling). No activity at glucagon, GIP or GLP-2 receptors. Signalling biased toward cAMP over beta-arrestin recruitment 11671171 |
Indication and dosing
FOUNDAYO is indicated, together with a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity, "to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term" in adults with obesity, or in adults with overweight and at least one weight-related comorbid condition 659. Concomitant use with another GLP-1 receptor agonist is not recommended 659.
- Tablet strengths are 0.8, 2.5, 5.5, 9, 14.5 and 17.2 mg, taken once daily. Treatment starts at 0.8 mg, and each step up follows at least 30 days on the current dose, to a maximum of 17.2 mg 659.
- It may be taken with or without food. FDA's review describes the product as having a "lack of food and water dosing restrictions" 659665. The US-approved oral semaglutide products do not share this feature.
- The label contains CYP3A4 interaction limits. The maximum dose is 9 mg with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors that also inhibit OATP1B, and strong CYP3A4 inducers, should be avoided 659.
Pivotal evidence
FDA based substantial evidence of effectiveness on two 72-week, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase 3 trials 922935:
| Trial | Population | Placebo-adjusted weight change at Week 72 (trial doses 6 / 12 / 36 mg, labeled as FOUNDAYO 5.5 / 9 / 17.2 mg) |
|---|---|---|
| ATTAIN-1 (NCT05869903), N=3,127 | Obesity, or overweight with a comorbidity, without T2D | −5.3% / −6.2% / −9.0%, all p<0.001 939 |
| ATTAIN-2 (NCT05872620), N=1,613 | BMI ≥27 kg/m² with T2D (HbA1c 7% to 10%) | −2.6% / −4.5% / −7.1%, all p<0.001 921 |
FDA's clinical interpretation depended on the population. In ATTAIN-1, all three doses met the 5% threshold for clinically meaningful placebo-adjusted weight loss. In ATTAIN-2, only 36 mg clearly met it. FDA judged 12 mg borderline and found that 6 mg did not meet the threshold 926927. The overall benefit-risk assessment was favorable 933658.
Safety and postmarketing obligations
- Boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumors. FDA applied the boxed warning even though orforglipron is not pharmacologically active in rats or mice and did not cause tumors in rodent studies. FDA treats C-cell findings as an on-target GLP-1 receptor class effect whose human relevance is unknown 659864875.
- Gastrointestinal tolerability. In the pooled pivotal trials, GI adverse events occurred in about 66% of orforglipron patients versus 37% on placebo. Discontinuations due to adverse events were 8.1% versus 3.5% 933. The label restarts titration at a lower dose after 7 or more missed doses 870.
- Hepatic. FDA found no substantial evidence of increased idiosyncratic liver-injury risk 933. It nonetheless requested 5 years of enhanced pharmacovigilance, with serious DILI cases (jaundice, liver failure, transplant, death) submitted as 15-day Alert reports 881. This is a small-molecule-specific obligation not seen with the peptide agonists.
- 505(o) PMRs. The PMRs include a class-wide medullary thyroid carcinoma registry case series running at least 15 years 863864 and a pediatric obesity registry cohort study of at least 10 years (PMR 4977-3) 882. FDA also identified pregnancy exposure as a risk requiring further assessment 882.
- No REMS was required 863.
What the orforglipron trial registry signals next
The ClinicalTrials.gov portfolio suggests Lilly is building toward label expansion well beyond chronic weight management:
- Type 2 diabetes (ACHIEVE program). ACHIEVE-1 (completed) 29, ACHIEVE-2 versus dapagliflozin 27, ACHIEVE-3 versus semaglutide 21, ACHIEVE-4 versus insulin glargine 23, ACHIEVE-5 30, ACHIEVE-J long-term safety (completed) 19, ACHIEVE-RAM in Ramadan fasting 15, and ACHIEVE-PEDS versus dulaglutide in pediatric T2D 9. The approved label is limited to weight reduction 659, so a T2D indication remains a prospective filing.
- Obesity comorbidities and outcomes. A cardiovascular outcomes trial in ASCVD 24, peripheral artery disease (ATTAIN-PAD) 41, obstructive sleep apnea (ATTAIN-OSA) 49, hypertension master protocols 101116, knee osteoarthritis pain 13, stress urinary incontinence 47, and weight-maintenance after prior therapy 48.
- Special populations and regions. Adolescents 8, Japan (ATTAIN-J) 6, China (ATTAIN-CN) 17, and overweight individuals at risk of obesity complications (ATTAIN-NOW) 45.
2. Other recent FDA actions in the incretin class
| Date | Product (application) | Action |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 27, 2026 | Mounjaro (NDA 215866, S-044/S-045) | New indication to reduce MACE risk in adults with T2D at high CV risk (SURPASS-CVOT). Updated diabetic retinopathy warning. 2.5 mg may now be used for ongoing glycemic control 961 |
| Aug 26, 2026 | Zepbound (NDA 217806, S-041) | No new indication. Recent Major Change to Warnings and Precautions 5.8 (diabetic retinopathy complications in T2D), based on SURPASS-CVOT 11871184 |
| Mar 19, 2026 | Wegovy HD (NDA 215256, S-029) | 7.2 mg once weekly for adults who tolerated 2.4 mg for at least 4 weeks and need additional weight reduction 12131223 |
| Dec 22, 2025 | Wegovy tablets (NDA 218316, ORIG, Type 3) | Oral semaglutide 25 mg once daily for chronic weight management and MACE risk reduction in adults with established CVD and obesity or overweight 101510171032 |
| Aug 15, 2025 | Wegovy (NDA 215256, S-024, priority) | Accelerated approval for noncirrhotic MASH with F2 to F3 fibrosis 744 |
The oral Wegovy review shows how far FDA would bridge. OASIS 4 (64 weeks, placebo-controlled) was the only pivotal adequate and well-controlled trial 10321036. The cardiovascular indication was extended to the tablet by pharmacokinetic bridging to the subcutaneous SELECT trial, without a dedicated outcomes trial 1033.
Class-wide labeling activity also continues. The Drugs@FDA record shows coordinated labeling supplements across GLP-1 products (Ozempic, Rybelsus, Victoza, Saxenda, Trulicity, Byetta, Bydureon, Adlyxin, Soliqua, Xultophy) on shared action dates in November 2024, May 2025 and October 2025 477483486495504506513522472531.
3. Recent EMA decisions
| EU authorisation | Product | Summary |
|---|---|---|
| 15 Jul 2026 | Ablymico and Liraglutide STADA (liraglutide, STADA) | Article 10(3) hybrid applications with Saxenda as reference product. The hybrid route was used because the pro-peptide is chemically produced while the reference is biologically derived. Bioequivalence to Saxenda was shown. Indicated for weight management 300339604607613 |
| 26 Mar 2026 | Kayshild (semaglutide, Novo Nordisk) | Once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutide, titrated to 2.4 mg, for non-cirrhotic MASH with F2 to F3 fibrosis 904906919 |
| 24 Nov 2025 | Kyinsu (insulin icodec/semaglutide, Novo Nordisk) | Once-weekly fixed-ratio combination for adults with T2D insufficiently controlled on basal insulin or GLP-1 RAs 707720 |
| Extension | Wegovy (semaglutide) | New 7.2 mg once-weekly maintenance dose for adults with BMI ≥30 kg/m² at initiation 636. Wegovy tablets 1.5, 4, 9 and 25 mg added via line extension 651 |
Where EMA and FDA diverge
- Cardiovascular claims. CHMP did not grant Wegovy a separate MACE-reduction indication. SELECT results were placed in SmPC section 5.1 and cross-referenced from the weight-management indication 637. For the tablets, EMA concluded that cardiovascular benefit could not be assumed from subcutaneous data and removed the section 4.1 cardiovascular reference 639. FDA took the opposite position and granted the tablet a MACE indication by PK bridging 1033.
- Comorbidity indications. For Mounjaro, CHMP concluded that a standalone OSA indication was unnecessary because the population is already covered by the weight-management indication. SURMOUNT-OSA data went into SmPC sections 4.1, 4.8 and 5.1 instead 897889884.
- Pediatric scope. Mounjaro's EU T2D indication extends to children aged 10 years and older 884.
For sponsors, this means EU labeling strategy for new incretins should plan on comorbidity and outcomes data appearing in section 5.1 rather than as discrete indications.
No EPARs were found for orforglipron, cagrilintide/CagriSema, survodutide or retatrutide as of this review.
4. The emerging pipeline in trial registries
Late-stage programs (Phase 3 registered)
| Agent (sponsor) | Mechanism as described in records | Route/frequency in records | Representative Phase 3 trials |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retatrutide (Lilly) | Not stated in retrieved records | SC, once weekly 13371329 | TRIUMPH-1 obesity 699; TRIUMPH-2 T2D with obesity 703; TRIUMPH-3 obesity with CVD 701; TRIUMPH-5 versus tirzepatide 689; CV and kidney outcomes trial 697; versus semaglutide in T2D 698 |
| CagriSema (Novo Nordisk) | Combination of cagrilintide and semaglutide 1230 | SC, once weekly; 2.4/2.4 mg and 1.0/1.0 mg 1232 | REDEFINE 1 990; REDEFINE 3 CV 1004; versus tirzepatide 997; REIMAGINE 1 and 5 in T2D 10011003 |
| Maridebart cafraglutide (Amgen) | Not stated in retrieved records | SC 1045 | MARITIME-1 without T2D 847; MARITIME-2 T2D 854; MARITIME-CV 99; MARITIME-HF (HFpEF/HFmrEF) 101; MARITIME-OSA-1 858 |
| Survodutide (Boehringer Ingelheim) | Not stated in retrieved records | SC, once weekly 1087 | SYNCHRONIZE-1 740 and -2 103; CV safety 74; LIVERAGE MASH 734 and cirrhosis 735; T2D glycemic control 108 |
| NNC0487-0111 (Novo Nordisk) | "Similar to" amylin and GLP-1 795 | SC once weekly; oral once daily also studied 12811284 | AMAZE 1 to 6, 8, 10 and 12 6389858487889410575; HF-POLARIS 970 |
| Zenagamtide (Novo Nordisk) | Not stated | SC once weekly; oral tablet once daily 805808 | AMAZE 7 versus semaglutide 71; AMAZE 9 (tablets) 69; AMAZE 13 Asia 70; AMBITION 7 versus insulin glargine 81 |
| Eloralintide (Lilly) | Not stated in retrieved records | SC, once weekly 1133 | ENLIGHTEN-1 783, -2 T2D 65, -3 OSA 788, -4 knee OA 784, -6 add-on in persistent obesity 785 |
| VK2735 (Viking) | Dual GLP-1/GIP receptor agonist 1202 | SC weekly; oral daily in Phase 2 12041196 | VANQUISH 1 792, VANQUISH 2 T2D 67 |
| AZD6234 (AstraZeneca) | Not stated | SC, once weekly 799 | SELENE 1 68, SELENE 2 T2D 98, SELENE 3 adjunct to incretin therapy 80 |
| Enicepatide / RO7795068 (Roche) | Not stated | Not stated | Enith1 62, Enith2 T2D 61, NCT07670416 64 |
| KAI-9531 (Kailera) | Not stated | SC, once weekly 812 | Three Phase 3 trials, including versus semaglutide 737783 |
| MET097 (Metsera) | Not stated | Once weekly; once-monthly in Phase 2b 945946 | VESPER-4 945 |
| GZR18 / bofanglutide (Gan & Lee; Carnot) | Not stated | SC; every-2-week regimen versus tirzepatide in Phase 2 191 | Versus Wegovy 91; BALANCE-OBS versus semaglutide in Latin America 76; OSA trials 112113 |
Patterns across the registry
- Head-to-head designs against approved incretins are now common. Examples are retatrutide versus tirzepatide 689, CagriSema versus tirzepatide 997, zenagamtide versus semaglutide 71, NNC0487-0111 versus semaglutide 94, KAI-9531 versus semaglutide 83, and GZR18 versus Wegovy 91. This reflects an active-comparator environment in which placebo-only data may not be enough for payers or for differentiation claims.
- Outcomes and comorbidity trials start alongside registration trials. CV outcomes trials are registered for orforglipron 24, retatrutide 697, maridebart cafraglutide 99 and survodutide 74. HFpEF, OSA, MASH, CKD and osteoarthritis are repeated targets 101858734692784.
- Amylin-based agents are the next competitive tier. Candidates include CagriSema, NNC0487-0111, eloralintide, and petrelintide combined with enicepatide (ZYNERGY) 147. Lilly is also combining eloralintide with macupatide 140 and with tirzepatide 777. AstraZeneca's SELENE 3 tests AZD6234 as an adjunct to existing incretin therapy 80.
- More oral candidates are following orforglipron. Beyond oral Wegovy and FOUNDAYO, the registry lists zenagamtide tablets 69, oral NNC0487-0111 1284, oral VK2735 1196, and weekly oral ecnoglutide (EVOLVE-2) 145. Other oral candidates are once-daily RGT001-075 (COMO-1) 138, BGM0504 tablets 176, MWN109 tablets 182, CX11 tablets 167, DA-302168S tablets 163, and a GZR18 tablet in Phase 1 670.
- Chinese sponsors are a substantial share of the pipeline. Phase 3 programs include VCT220 60, HDM1005 86, BGM0504 90, RAY1225 93, MWN109 109, MDR-001 92, UBT251 (OSA) 97 and ecnoglutide 980985. Semaglutide copies from CSPC and Jiuyuan are in comparative Phase 3 trials against Wegovy 9695. Mazdutide, a dual GLP-1R/GCGR agonist 804, appears in the registry mainly in investigator-initiated Phase 4 studies in China 763766, which indicates post-approval use in that market.
- Mechanism transparency varies. Several sponsors, notably for retatrutide, survodutide, maridebart cafraglutide, eloralintide and AZD6234, do not state receptor targets in the retrieved registry records. RA teams building competitive landscapes should confirm mechanism from FDA or EMA documents or peer-reviewed sources, not from CT.gov alone.
5. Regulatory considerations for sponsors
- Small-molecule GLP-1 RAs bring a different safety review focus. For orforglipron, FDA added hepatic enhanced pharmacovigilance 881 and CYP3A4/OATP1B dose limits 659 on top of the class-wide boxed warning and MTC registry PMR 659863. Sponsors of other non-peptide oral agents should expect the same DILI and DDI scrutiny.
- The class-wide PMR package now applies by default. New entrants should budget for a 15-year MTC registry and a pediatric obesity registry 863882.
- FDA and EMA handle outcomes claims differently. FDA grants discrete MACE indications and accepts PK bridging across formulations 1033961. CHMP tends to place outcomes data in SmPC section 5.1 and would not assume cardiovascular benefit transfers from subcutaneous to oral formulations 637639.
- The FDA effect-size threshold is applied separately in T2D. FDA's reading of ATTAIN-2 shows that the ≥5% placebo-adjusted threshold is assessed within the T2D population, where weight loss is smaller 926927. This matters for dose selection in programs that enrol obesity with and without diabetes.
- Generic and hybrid entry has started in the EU. Liraglutide hybrids referencing Saxenda were authorised in July 2026 via Article 10(3), reflecting the synthetic versus recombinant pro-peptide distinction 604.
Open questions to explore further
Several points could not be resolved from the retrieved records and warrant targeted follow-up. They are the substantive change in the August 2026 FOUNDAYO labeling supplement 663, the specific pregnancy PMR for orforglipron 882, the EU regulatory status and timing for orforglipron, and Phase 3 readouts for retatrutide, CagriSema and maridebart cafraglutide as they reach FDA and EMA filing.