Rhizome

FDA Handling of Bacterial Endotoxin Test Method Issues in NDA and BLA Reviews

Chetan Mishra
Chetan Mishra
Sep 27, 2026

Bacterial endotoxin testing is often treated as a routine release test, but in marketing applications it regularly draws FDA scrutiny. Low endotoxin recovery in biologic formulations, the use of recombinant factor C or the monocyte activation test, and incomplete method-suitability data can each lead to information requests, postmarketing commitments, or a Complete Response. CMC and regulatory teams preparing NDA and BLA submissions need to know where FDA draws the line on what is acceptable at approval and what can be resolved afterward.

The analysis below reviews FDA review documents and Complete Response Letters for recurring bacterial endotoxin issues. It covers how the agency has treated low endotoxin recovery studies and interim safeguards such as the rabbit pyrogen test, what evidence it has expected before accepting alternative methods, and which method-suitability gaps have come up during review. It also identifies the products where these issues were resolved through postmarketing commitments and those where they contributed to a Complete Response action.

Want Rhizome's help on your own question? Try it for free.

How FDA handles bacterial endotoxin test method issues in NDA and BLA reviews: low endotoxin recovery, recombinant factor C, and method suitability

Bacterial endotoxin testing (BET) is a routine release test, but FDA review records show it is also a recurring source of information requests, postmarketing commitments (PMCs), and occasionally Complete Response (CR) actions. Across Drugs@FDA review documents, three themes dominate: low endotoxin recovery (LER, also called endotoxin masking) in biologic formulations, the acceptability of recombinant factor C (rFC) and the monocyte activation test (MAT), and basic method-suitability gaps such as missing inhibition/enhancement data or an unstated routine test dilution.

Key takeaways

  • FDA does not accept a LAL method affected by LER as sufficient for release on its own. The recurring pattern is to investigate or qualify a method that mitigates LER, use the rabbit pyrogen test (RPT) as an interim safeguard where needed, and allow MAT or other alternatives only with feasibility evidence, full validation, and often a fallback method 3033057370308309317.
  • LER is most often resolved through PMCs rather than CR letters. Examples include Entyvio, Mvasi, Takhzyro, Lumoxiti, Ultomiris, Ebanga, Xenpozyme, Wezlana, Imdelltra, Tremfya, Imaavy, and Pyzchiva 657871576263737470676459.
  • When endotoxin control is missing entirely, CRs do follow. Merilog (insulin aspart-szjj) received a CR in September 2023 because neither the LAL method nor the proposed RPT was shown to reliably detect endotoxin 4208. Lymphir (denileukin diftitox-cxdl) received a first-cycle CR citing the absence of an appropriate endotoxin assay 12294.
  • The clearest rFC precedent in the review record is Lymphir, where FDA accepted an EndoLISA d-rFC method as validated for drug-product release in the resubmission, and the BLA was approved on August 7, 2024 83.
  • Method-suitability deficiencies are usually procedural. FDA asks for missing inhibition/enhancement reports, three-lot data, MVD calculations, the routine commercial test dilution, or an endotoxin limit consistent with USP <85> at the maximum dose 137131138146149147.

The guidance framework FDA reviewers apply

FDA's Pyrogen and Endotoxins Testing: Questions and Answers guidance was first issued in June 2012 and revised in March 2026 261262. The current version sets out the following expectations:

  • Alternative methods. Firms may use alternatives to USP procedures when they offer advantages in accuracy, sensitivity, precision, selectivity, or automation. Alternatives should be validated under USP <1225> and shown to give equivalent or better results. If results conflict, the USP gel-clot method is controlling unless the monograph states otherwise 107.
  • Switching between BET methods. When moving from one method to another that measures the same entity, equivalence should be shown by direct comparison. Limit of detection and inhibition/enhancement are the fundamental comparisons, using spiked product and, where available, positive field samples 106.
  • Interference. Interference should be mitigated by dilution up to the MVD or by other validated sample preparation. If that fails, the rabbit pyrogen test should be used 161.
  • MVD versus routine dilution. The MVD should not be the routine test dilution. Sponsors should find the lowest dilution that neutralizes interference and screen just above it. FDA's example: with an MVD of 1:100 and inhibition at 1:10 but not 1:20, screening at 1:30 is supported 162.
  • Pooling. For pooled small-volume parenterals, the MVD is divided by the number of units pooled, and FDA suggests no more than three units per composite 170.
  • Hold times and assayable endotoxin. Sampling plans should account for in-process hold times 105. Storage and handling procedures should rest on data showing the stability of assayable endotoxin, and purified endotoxin may behave differently from native endotoxin 170. The retrieved guidance text does not use the terms "masking" or "low endotoxin recovery" explicitly. These hold-time and assayable-endotoxin statements are the closest guidance-level hooks 170161.

On rFC specifically, the 2012 Q&A stated that a manufacturer electing to use a recombinant factor C assay should validate it according to USP <85> requirements for photometric quantitative techniques and USP <1225> 104. That paragraph is not in the March 2026 edition. USP <86> (Bacterial Endotoxins Test Using Recombinant Reagents) became official in May 2025, so rFC is no longer accurately described as non-compendial. The March 2026 Q&A does not discuss <86>.

For endotoxin limits, FDA's 2020 draft guidance on setting endotoxin limits for investigational oncology products restates the USP <85> K/M framework 115. K is 5 EU/kg/hour (or 100 EU/m²/hour) for non-intrathecal injections and 0.2 EU/kg/hour for intrathecal injections. These are upper limits, and stricter limits can be warranted 165.

Low endotoxin recovery: what FDA asks for

Study design expectations

Across BLA reviews, FDA's LER information requests follow a consistent template:

  • Undiluted product, maximum hold, representative containers. For Sylvant (siltuximab), FDA found that the initial proposal did not address LER over the maximum hold of formulated drug substance and drug product. FDA required spiking studies in undiluted material, over maximum hold times, in representative containers 181184.
  • Method match. For Keytruda (pembrolizumab), FDA rejected LER data generated by kinetic turbidimetric testing because the drug substance release method was kinetic chromogenic. FDA asked for a repeat study with the release method, concentrated CSE or RSE, and the maximum hold time including the interval between sampling and testing 191.
  • Process-relevant temperature. For Ocrevus (ocrelizumab), FDA questioned a recovery study held at 2 to 8°C when manufacturing occurred at a different temperature, because temperature can affect masking kinetics 187. For Jeuveau, FDA noted the same kind of limitation but did not require another study because the formulation lacked polysorbate and LER risk was low 189.
  • Appropriate controls. For Benlysta (belimumab), FDA requested a drug product LER study with spiked LAL Reagent Water as a control at at least two time points after the initial spike, such as 24 and 48 hours 198.
  • Multiple lots. For Zinbryta (daclizumab), one lot showed adequate recovery. FDA still considered two more lots necessary and handled this as a PMC because the risk assessment indicated low contamination risk and the specifications sat well below the safety threshold 199.
  • Repeat studies when the first fails. For Takhzyro (lanadelumab-flyo), the original LER study did not support the claimed hold time. After multiple information requests, a repeat study using kinetic turbidimetric LAL under USP <85> showed no LER in drug substance or drug product 186.

A 50% recovery threshold appears repeatedly. The Ultomiris PMC required an alternate method if recovery fell below 50% 62. For Adakveo, FDA concluded that USP <85> BET could not detect endotoxin at release because spike recovery was below 50% 317. For Retacrit, FDA required at least 50% recovery using gel-clot endpoint titration with time-zero controls 324.

How FDA resolves confirmed LER

When LER is confirmed, the review record shows several resolution pathways:

PathwayExample and FDA position
Switch to gel-clotTruxima (rituximab-abbs): LER was found with the kinetic chromogenic method. FDA requested a qualified gel-clot release method. The sponsor verified gel-clot on three lots, established an MVD of 10, and tightened the specification. FDA noted this as an additional comment, not an approvability issue 16. For Entyvio, FDA stated that gel-clot testing is generally less prone to LER 313.
Demasking buffersLumoxiti (moxetumomab pasudotox-tdfk): PMC 3477-3 required an alternative release method for the IV solution stabilizer that overcomes LER, and noted that demasking buffers may be used with LAL BET 57.
Rabbit pyrogen test as interim releaseUnituxin, Blincyto, Kanuma, Entyvio, Adakveo, and Opdualag all used or were directed to RPT pending a reliable in vitro method 303304306313317309. For Unituxin, FDA cited 21 CFR 610.13(b), which requires rabbit testing unless an equivalent method is demonstrated under 21 CFR 610.9 303.
MAT developmentWezlana and Imdelltra PMCs require MAT feasibility and validation on three batches, plus a non-LER fallback method if MAT proves infeasible 7470. For Zynlonta and Abrilada, FDA said MAT could be submitted in lieu of RPT data under 21 CFR 610.9, supported by full validation data 305307.
New in vitro method replacing RPTXenpozyme and Pyzchiva PMCs require an endotoxin method that mitigates LER, three-lot qualification, a three-lot LER study, and replacement of RPT once the supplement is approved 7359.

The Vimizim (elosulfase alfa) record adds a mechanistic point. FDA stated that the release method under-reported spiked endotoxin in undiluted product and that the spike appeared to become non-pyrogenic over time. FDA requested comparison with RPT, investigation of the LER mechanism, and evaluation of alternative methods 328.

Representative LER postmarketing commitments

ProductCommitment summaryFinal report
Entyvio (vedolizumab)Maximum-hold study for formulated drug substance. If LER is found, reevaluate hold times or develop an alternative method 65December 2014 65
Mvasi (bevacizumab-awwb)Develop and implement a validated endotoxin method not subject to LER for drug product release 78December 2018 78
Tanzeum (albiglutide)Study the LER mechanism and develop a reliable endotoxin test including worst-case holds 7980Not stated in retrieved text
Ultomiris (ravulizumab-cwvz)LER study at process-relevant conditions. Alternate method if recovery is below 50% 62March 2021 62
Ebanga (ansuvimab-zykl)Feasibility protocol for an alternative method that mitigates LER, with annual updates if none is identified 63March 2021 63
Pombiliti (cipaglucosidase alfa-atga)Develop, validate, and implement an LER-mitigating method, with three-lot qualification and LER data 39July 2023 39
Tremfya (guselkumab)Supplemental hold-time LER study at 15 to 25°C on three batches 67February 2025 67
Imaavy (nipocalimab-aahu)Three-batch hold-time study with RSE or LER-susceptible CSE. Investigate other methods if LER is shown 64December 2025 64

For Pombiliti, FDA also referenced PDA Technical Report No. 82. FDA noted that an endotoxin-spiked-product rabbit study could show whether RPT is unnecessary as an interim release method 3334.

Recombinant factor C: limited but instructive precedent

The review record contains few product-specific rFC decisions. The clearest is Lymphir (denileukin diftitox-cxdl), BLA 761312:

  • First cycle. FDA found no appropriate assay to measure endotoxin and inadequate controls for drug substance and drug product release testing. This was a principal product-quality basis for the CR 12294. The record describes repeated information requests about LER and states that no method had been successfully validated to detect endotoxin 293297.
  • Resubmission. Citius introduced an EndoLISA d-rFC method. FDA found it acceptable and validated for drug product release testing 83. FDA also found the new testing facility for the EndoLISA assay, which was non-compendial at the time of that 2024 review, acceptable after inspection 295.
  • Residual commitment. The approval included a PMC to add endotoxin monitoring to the drug substance control strategy and submit validation data from three independent drug substance batches, with a final report due March 2026 302.

The retrieved Lymphir records do not describe the rFC validation parameters, spike-recovery data, or any head-to-head comparison with LAL 83. Those records predate USP <86> (official May 2025). Sponsors should not treat the 2012 photometric and USP <1225> path as the only current standard. The March 2026 Q&A still expects a direct comparison of limit of detection and inhibition/enhancement when switching BET methods that measure the same entity 106, and 21 CFR 610.9 remains the equivalence basis FDA has cited for biologics 303305. For biologics, 21 CFR 610.9 equivalence is the regulatory basis FDA cites when a sponsor replaces a required test 303305.

Method suitability: common deficiencies

Most method-suitability findings in NDA and BLA reviews are documentation gaps, not scientific failures:

  • Missing suitability report. For Exondys 51 (eteplirsen), the suitability study was done but not submitted. Once provided, it showed three batches tested at four dilutions within the MVD, with acceptable spike recovery 137. The Gallium Ga 68 gozetotide application initially lacked an inhibition/enhancement study 139.
  • Routine test dilution not stated. FDA issued requests for pantoprazole sodium, Bydureon BCise, and Akovaz because the dilution for routine commercial testing was not identified, even where suitability testing showed no interference 131138146.
  • Validation up to the MVD. For Fetroja (cefiderocol), FDA requested validation across dilutions up to the MVD and identification of the routine dilution. The applicant showed that both 1 mg/mL and the MVD concentration were non-interfering and committed to 1 mg/mL for routine testing 151.
  • Three-lot data. Yervoy (ipilimumab) and docetaxel reviews requested MVD and inhibition/enhancement data from three lots 147149.
  • Limits exceeding USP <85>. For docetaxel, FDA found the proposed specification exceeded the USP <85> recommendation at the maximum dose and required a revised limit and revised suitability testing 149.
  • Legacy information requests. Accretropin, Prolensa, and Kalbitor reviews show FDA asking for the assay type, limit derivation, MVD calculation, lysate sensitivity, pooling practices, and inhibition/enhancement results 140150152.

Where dilution alone resolves interference, FDA accepts it. For Acuvail (ketorolac ophthalmic solution), kinetic turbidimetric LAL at a validated dilution met acceptance criteria, and the review listed no microbiology deficiencies 46.

When endotoxin issues reach a Complete Response

The review records identify the following CR actions and major deficiencies tied to endotoxin testing:

Product (application)Endotoxin deficiency
Merilog (insulin aspart-szjj), BLA 761325CR on September 8, 2023. The release method could not reliably detect endotoxin over process-relevant time and temperature. The proposed RPT was not shown to be free of insulin-related confounding, and no spiking studies showed detection capability 4208. LAL had been avoided because of a claimed LER effect, but the LER data were not submitted 210. After method modification and successful validation, FDA found the resubmission addressed the deficiency 215.
Lymphir (denileukin diftitox-cxdl), BLA 761312First-cycle CR citing no appropriate endotoxin assay and inadequate release controls 12294. Resolved with a validated rFC method 83.
Fluorodopa F 18, NDA 200655Gel-clot assay inadequately validated for the product's low pH. The record notes no pH recording for diluted sample and sample-lysate mixtures and no interfering-factors data 310.
Sodium Fluoride F 18, NDA 022494Endotoxin testing had to be completed before release, and the procedure was not described in enough detail for review 18.
Elelyso (taliglucerase alfa), 022458CR letter required validation summary reports for sterility and bacterial endotoxin methods 8.
Raxibacumab, BLA 125349Final product specification did not account for endotoxin contributed by the saline diluent 22.
Bravelle (urofollitropin), 021289Proposed release limit exceeded 5 EU/kg/hour at the maximum dose. FDA also sought data on stopper endotoxin removal or incoming limits 5.
Zynrelef Kit (bupivacaine; meloxicam), NDA 211988CR required the endotoxin method, limit, and testing frequency, or a justification for omitting endotoxin testing 25.
Furoscix (furosemide), NDA 209988Device constituent claimed to be non-pyrogenic, but no endotoxin data could be located 19.

In the retrieved records, no CR or major deficiency centered on rFC itself 1283. Confirmed LER in a product with an otherwise workable control strategy, such as an interim RPT, was handled through PMCs. Adakveo is an example: FDA found it approvable because endotoxin-spiked product was pyrogenic in rabbits, which supported RPT as the interim release test 317.

Practical implications for sponsors

  1. Run LER studies early, and run them to FDA's template. That means undiluted product, maximum process hold, representative containers, process-relevant temperature, the actual release method, RSE or CSE spikes, and appropriate controls at multiple time points 181191187198. FDA has asked for repeat studies when any of these elements was missing 186191.
  2. Have an LER mitigation path ready. Options seen in approvals include gel-clot, demasking buffers, MAT, rFC, and interim RPT supported by spiked-product rabbit data 16577483317.
  3. Do not rely on RPT without spiking data. Merilog shows that RPT can fail as a fallback when product pharmacology may confound the rabbit response and spiking studies are missing 208.
  4. Treat rFC status as time-dependent. Lymphir (approved August 7, 2024) predates USP <86>, which became official in May 2025. The March 2026 Q&A still does not discuss <86>. For a pre-<86> switch, FDA's stated expectation was USP <85> photometric requirements, USP <1225>, a comparison of limit of detection and inhibition/enhancement, and 21 CFR 610.9 equivalence for biologics 104106303. Post-May 2025 filings should address <86> with the review division rather than rely only on the 2012 alternative-method path.
  5. Close out suitability basics in Module 3. Submit the full inhibition/enhancement report with three lots, show the MVD calculation, state the routine test dilution (which should not be the MVD), and justify the limit against K/M at the maximum hourly dose 137147162115.

Open questions that merit product-specific follow-up include how FDA has evaluated rFC comparability data beyond Lymphir, which formulation components were implicated in redacted LER cases, and whether completed LER PMCs led to method changes through supplements.

Want Rhizome's help on your own question? Try it for free.